//
you're reading...
Healthcare, IT, Resources, Security/Privacy, Social Media

SAMHSA & Social Media

I’ve recently had a couple of my clients query me on the use of social media within a behavioral health setting. Up until recently there hasn’t been much guidance I’ve been able to give in this area. Primarily this has been due to privacy concerns and the lack of reasonable tool sets to facilitate these kinds of projects. In the past, I’ve always recommended products from Jive Software. They are full featured but require careful thought in implementation. This doesn’t provide much guidance for the hoards wanting to use FB and Twitter.
Much to my surprise, I discovered today that SAMHSA (the federal Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration) has opened a “Social Health” hub. It will be interesting to see where this goes. If nothing else, the listing of commonly used hashtags is a boon.

About barkie19

I'm a Healthcare Information Technology consultant who happens to specialize in the Public Behavioral Health world. Things have been at the status quo for a while and I believe its time to change the conversation. Talk to me, please.

Discussion

Comments are closed.

